Smyrna, Clayton voters determine Town Council members


SMYRNA — Two incumbents lost reelection bids for Smyrna Town Council positions Tuesday, while another was defeated in Clayton.

In Smyrna, District 3 challenger Alvin Pope defeated incumbent Valerie Forbes by a vote of 259-54.

Also, in the at-large race, Justin Capps received 218 votes to best Dean Johnson’s 208 and incumbent Gerald Brown’s 172.

Both terms will run for three years.

In Clayton, incumbent Ryan Paisley and challenger Marvin Pedigo received 90 and 45 votes, respectively, to earn Town Council seats. Incumbent Mary Ellen Debenedictis garnered 38.

Voting results were unofficial as of Wednesday morning, pending certification by the Delaware Department of Elections.

Members and subscribers make this story possible.
You can help support non-partisan, community journalism.