VOTE 2024

Delawareans throughout the state elect school board members


Delawareans throughout the state elected school board members from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Norman A. Abrams Jr. topped two challengers to retain an at-large seat in the Appoquinimink School District.

Mr. Abrams received 479 votes, followed by Brittney Mumford and Candace M. Jusino with 283 and 118, respectively.

Anita West-Werner topped Joshua Hudson by a margin of 492-343 to capture a District 4 seat in the Indian River School District.

Sarah Starkey bested David Walter Mazur 222-68 for a spot on the Lake Forest School District board.

Russell Smart was elected to a spot on the Delmar School District board after receiving 385 votes to Dawn Turner’s 178.

An at-large seat in Woodbridge went to John Campbell who received 401 votes, followed by Brian Swain with 231 and Kristie Thomas with 52.

Robin Crossin topped Tanya Kerns 187-175 in the Colonial School District race.

Susan Sander was victorious in the Red Clay Consolidated School District, receiving 1,473 votes compared to 570 by Jason Casper.

There were a slew of uncontested races as well including:

Caesar Rodney at-large, Jessica Marelli

Capital at-large, John C. Martin Jr.

Milford Nominating District B, Jennifer Lynn Massotti

Smyrna at-large, Christopher T. Scuse

Cape Henlopen at-large, Alison J. Myers; Cape Henlopen Nominating District C, Janet E. Maull-Martin

Indian River District 1, Lisa Hudson Briggs and Kelly Kline;
Indian River District 3, Mark L. Steele;
Indian River District 5, Derek E. Cathell and Kim Law Taylor

Laurel at-large, Kim Ralph

Seaford at-large, Dara Laws Savage

Brandywine, Nominating District E, Shawn L. Jegede
Brandywine, Nominating District G, Jason Heller

Christina Nominating District D, Amy Trauth

Terms run from July 1 through June 30, 2028.
Results are unofficial until certified by the Delaware Department of Elections.

Members and subscribers make this story possible.
You can help support non-partisan, community journalism.