Sussex County property taxes due Sept. 30

Delaware State News
Posted 9/19/21

GEORGETOWN — Sussex County issued a reminder to property owners on Thursday that Sept. 30 is the state-mandated deadline to pay annual property tax bills.

Create an account for additional free stories

Thank you for visiting BayToBayNews. Registered visitors can read 5 free stories per month. Visit our sign-up page to register for your free stories.

Start a digital subscription today!

Subscribers can read unlimited stories for a special introductory rate of $5.99 per month.

Subscribers, please log in to continue

Sussex County property taxes due Sept. 30


GEORGETOWN — Sussex County issued a reminder to property owners on Thursday that Sept. 30 is the state-mandated deadline to pay annual property tax bills.

In August, the county’s billing office issued tax bills for the 2022 fiscal year, totaling an estimated $174.1 million in revenue.

These bills include county property taxes, as well as sewer and water, tax ditch and street-lighting fees, where applicable.

Additionally, they include local school district taxes, which are set by and vary among the eight independent school districts in the county. Delaware law requires Sussex to bill property owners for school taxes on behalf of the districts, with those funds then turned over to the state.

Approximately 10% of a typical residential tax bill is for county property taxes, with the remainder going to public education.

Bills can be viewed here.

Bills feature an easy-to-read format to help taxpayers understand the number of different payment options, an important feature given the ongoing COVID-19 emergency.

The county accepts tax payments by cash, check, money order and debit or credit cards.

Taxpayers have different options to make their payments, including:

  • Through a lender — Many have their annual taxes paid out of escrow accounts by their mortgage lenders. Escrow customers do not receive paper bills. However, billed amounts are available online by visiting here and selecting the “Sussex County Self Service site” link. If escrow customers have any questions regarding the status of their accounts, they should contact their lenders.
  • Online — Payment can be made online with most major credit cards or by e-check. Visit the county’s webpage and select “Online Payment” at the top right.
  • By mail — Property owners can mail tax payments using the return envelopes included with their bills. Checks and money orders should be made payable to “Sussex County Government” and addressed to the Sussex County Treasury Division, P.O. Box 601, Georgetown, DE 19947. All payments sent by mail must be postmarked by Sept. 30 to be considered on time. Unpaid balances are subject to monthly interest charges.
  • In person or by telephone — The county’s payment center is open weekdays from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. Anyone paying in person is subject to a health screening and safety protocols. The center is on the first floor of the County Administrative Office, 2 The Circle, Georgetown. A convenient and secure after-hours payment box also is available in the lobby.For those making payment by telephone, call 866-791-9802. Callers must have their tax bills available when making telephone payments.

For more information, call 855-7871.